Talk About Network

Google


Register and Login
Nick
Password
Register create new account Sign up is FREE and you can post replies, new topics, bookmark posts and more!
Recover lost password


Drinks > Homebrewing > IM****TANT Caut...
Latest [ Topics | Posts ] Archive Post A New Topic Post a Reply
<< Topic < Post Post 1 of 4 Topic 740 of 823
Post > Topic >>

IM****TANT Caution re possible Phi****ng or Malware re beer groups

by Bill Velek <billvelek@[EMAIL PROTECTED] > Oct 18, 2007 at 04:54 PM

This is an im****tant warning to all homebrewers.  There is a strong 
possibility that someone is harvesting email addresses from one or more 
homebrewing forums and is using a fake website to plant malware or 
exploit visitors in a phi****ng scheme.  In order for this possible 
scheme to work, homebrewers would be targeted and the rogue site would 
be made to appear like a legitimate site of interest, in this case "Sam 
Adams".  This is why I'm suspicious and posting this warning; today I 
received the following email from estore@[EMAIL PROTECTED]
 ...:

***Begin***
Bill Velek

Here is your login information for the bostonbeer.com Web site.

Email    : billvelek@[EMAIL PROTECTED]
 :

If you would like to change the password indicated above please follow 
the link below.
http://businessflow.cas07.mainstreetcommerce.com/3.9.4/checkout/customer_resetpass.aspx?domain=bostonbeer.com&customer_guid=37efa99f-1d1b-4522-90e3-fde1d7cdc498

You can access your customized information by entering the login 
information above when asked.

http://216.139.237.127/
***End***

Because I couldn't recall making any attempts to register on that site, 
and because the use of an IP address is a telltale sign of phi****ng 
efforts, I decided to investigate by manually entering the URL for 
bostonbeer.com ... which took me to a site that _looks_ like a 
legitimate Samuel Adams site.  But knowing how easy it is to copy a 
site, and that most phishers will usually try to trick visitors by 
making things look as authentic a possible, I did some more digging. 
First, Sam Adams already has a website under the name of 
www.samueladams.com ... so why would they have two different names?
Second, I did a whois check on the above IP address, and it is _NOT_ 
registered to Samuel Adams, but instead is registered to Southwest 
Ventures in Austin, Texas, whereas the official www.samueladams.com site 
is actually registered to the Boston Beer Company in Massachusetts. 
Here are links to the two 'WhoIs' searches that I did:
http://www.networksolutions.com/whois/results.jsp?ip=216.139.237.127
http://www.networksolutions.com/whois/results.jsp?domain=samueladams.com

This is _mighty_ suspicious, so I've notified the Sam Adams company and 
asked for verification; meanwhile, I caution everyone to be very leery 
of any such emails.

Cheers.

Bill Velek - PERSONAL sites = www.velek.com & www.2plus2is4.com
740+ homebrewer group just for Equipment: www.tinyurl.com/axuol
370+ just for Growing Hops/Herbs/Grains: www.tinyurl.com/3au2uv
NEW group just for Homebrewing Supplies: www.tinyurl.com/2wnang
Join 'Homebrewers' to Help Cure Disease: www.tinyurl.com/yjlnyv
 




 4 Posts in Topic:
IMPORTANT Caution re possible Phishing or Malware re beer groups
Bill Velek <billvelek@  2007-10-18 16:54:11 
Re: IMPORTANT Caution re possible Phishing or Malware re beer gr
mcreda <mcreda2000@[EM  2007-10-18 15:07:07 
Fixed the links for the 'WhoIs' searches
Bill Velek <billvelek@  2007-10-18 17:31:37 
Follow-Up: I heard from Boston Beer Co. / Samuel Adams
Bill Velek <billvelek@  2007-10-19 10:56:14 

Post A Reply:
  Go here to Signup

AddThis Feed Button


About - Advertising - Contact - Frequently Asked Questions - Privacy Policy - Terms of Use - Signup

Contact
tan12V112 Sat Nov 22 7:33:43 CST 2008.